El Morro National Monument: Notes from the National Park Vagabond

Jan 27, 2017

El Morro National Monument, established on December 8, 1906, may be the second national monument proclaimed by Theodore Roosevelt after the passage of the Antiquities Act.  (Devils Tower in Wyoming was the first.)  TR established three monuments that day - Petrified Forest, Montezuma Castle, and El Morro.  Nobody knows which he proclaimed first, but the last two superintendents of El Morro have assured me, with a wink, that El Morro must have been the first one of the day.

Read More

Posted by Valerie Naylor on Jan 27, 2017 in History  |  Permalink  |  Comments (0)  |  Share this post